Charlton draw MK Dons in round one of Carabao Cup

Charlton have been drawn against Milton Keynes Dons in the first round of 2018/19’s Carabao Cup. 

The tie, which will be hosted at Stadium MK, will be contested on the week commencing Monday, August 13th. 

The Addicks earned a 2-1 victory over the Buckinghamshire club in Sky Bet League One last season. Highlights from that game are available to watch on Valley Pass.

The draw took place in Vietnam and, ahead of it, the EFL had confirmed a number of changes to this year’s competition. These are:

  • The removal of seedings from the first two rounds of the competition
  • The removal of extra-time, with all matches which are level after 90 minutes now going straight to penalties
  • Penalty shootouts to return to the traditional method, following last season’s trial with the ABBA system
  • VAR to be available to match officials at all Carabao Cup ties that are hosted at Premier League stadiums

Last year, Charlton came from behind to beat Exeter City in the first round of the Carabao Cup. Extended highlights from that match are available to watch on Valley Pass. 

The Addicks Sky Bet League One fixtures will be released on Thursday, June 21st at 9am. 

The Carabao Cup first-round draw can be seen in full below:

Southern section

Millwall V Gillingham

Portsmouth V AFC Wimbledon

Cheltenham Town V Colchester United

Yeovil Town V Aston Villa

Southend United V Brentford

Reading V Birmingham City

Wycombe Wanderers V Northampton Town

Swindon Town V Forest Green Rovers

Norwich City V Stevenage

Exeter City V Ipswich Town

Milton Keynes Dons V Charlton Athletic

West Bromwich Albion V Luton Town

Bristol Rovers V Crawley Town

Bristol City V Plymouth Argyle

Cambridge United V Newport County

Queens Park Rangers V Peterborough United

Oxford United V Coventry City

Northern section

Rotherham United V Wigan Athletic

Tranmere Rovers V Walsall

Crewe Alexandra V Fleetwood Town

Scunthorpe United V Doncaster Rovers

Macclesfield Town V Bradford City

Grimsby Town V Rochdale

Sheffield United V Hull City

Nottingham Forest V Bury

Middlesbrough V Notts County

Sunderland V Sheffield Wednesday

Leeds United V Bolton Wanderers

Carlisle United V Blackburn Rovers

Mansfield Town V Accrington Stanley

Port Vale V Lincoln City

Preston North End V Morecambe

Oldham Athletic V Derby County

Shrewsbury Town V Burton Albion

Blackpool V Barnsley

Read Time: 2 mins