2022/23 award winners revealed


Jes Rak-Sakyi has been named as Charlton’s Supporters’ Player of the Year for the 2022/23 campaign.

The 20-year-old, who received 46% of fans’ votes, has enjoyed a clinical campaign with the Addicks, scoring 15 goals and registering eight assists in Sky Bet League One so far this term.

Captain George Dobson was the runner-up to Rak-Sakyi, while Miles Leaburn finished third.

Beth Roe was crowned Women’s Player of the Year following a standout season for Karen Hills’ side. The full-back netted two goals during 2022/23 – including the winner against Southampton at The Valley in March – and provided three assists.

Goalkeeper Sian Rogers came second, with forward Angela Addison third.

Rak-Sakyi and Roe were both at the double as the pair also scooped the Players’ Player of the Year trophies.

Meanwhile, academy graduate Leaburn was named Valley Gold Young Player of the Year. The 19-year-old has enjoyed a sensational first season in senior football, scoring 13 goals and claiming three assists in all competitions.

First-year scholar Keenan Gough collected the second-ever Pierre Bolangi Award, given to an U18 player who has shown the late Pierre’s characteristics of resilience, leadership, optimism and compassion.

Jonathan West of the Upbeats was named the Colin Cameron Supporter of the Year for his dedication in following both the men’s and women’s first team.

Elsewhere, Women’s First Team Assistant Manager Riteesh Mishra received the Valley Gold Recognition of Service award. The club would like to extend their thanks to Riteesh for all of his ongoing hard work.

Steven Sessegnon's screamer against Accrington Stanley was selected as the Men's Goal of the Season, while Melissa Johnson picked up the Women's Goal of the Season award for her strike against Crystal Palace. 

Sean Clare and Lois Roche picked up the PFA Community Champion awards for their work with Charlton Athletic Community Trust.

Finally, the 2023 Hall of Fame inductees were also confirmed.

Chris Duffy was victorious in the pre-1950 category with a mammoth 84% of the vote. Jack Horton was the runner-up for the second year running.

The 1951-85 winner was Nicky Johns, who claimed 45% of the vote, and second was Brian Kinsey.

Yann Kermorgant was the post-1986 winner with 37%, with Matt Holland in second place.

Congratulations to all of our winners! All awards were presented at the club’s annual Player of the Year dinner on Sunday, April 30th, sponsored by Larry’s Mobile Bar.

There’s no place like home! Click here to purchase your 2023/24 season ticket.

Read Time: 2 mins