2023/24 award winners confirmed


Alfie May has been voted as Charlton’s 2023/24 Player of the Year.

The striker, who received a record-breaking 82% of fans’ votes, has impressed throughout his debut campaign with the Addicks, scoring 27 goals across all competitions. His 23 league goals earned him the Sky Bet League One Golden Boot award and he was also named in the EFL Team of the Season for League One.

Captain George Dobson finished as the runner-up, with Terell Thomas coming third.

Carla Humphrey was crowned Women’s Player of the Year following an impressive campaign for Karen Hills’ side, who finished second in the Barclays Women’s Championship. The midfielder scored three goals in 2023/24 and played a key role in the Addicks’ early season success.

Beth Roe, who won the accolade last term, came second, with Arsenal loanee Freya Godfrey third.

May was at the double as he also scooped the Men’s Players’ Player of the Year trophy, with Rebecca McKenna, an ever-present member of Hills’ team, lifting the Women’s Players’ Player of the Year award.

Academy graduate Daniel Kanu was named Valley Gold Young Player of the Year for the second time. The 19-year-old, who also received the award in 2021/22, joins Scott Minto, Scott Wagstaff and Callum Harriott as a two-time winner of the accolade.

Kanu, who joined the club at U11 level, scored seven goals and provided one assist for the Addicks during another progressive season which also saw him make his senior international debut for Sierra Leone.

First-year scholar Mason Hunter collected the Pierre Bolangi Award, given to an U18s player who has shown the late Pierre’s characteristics of resilience, leadership, optimism and compassion.

Charlton Her Game Too ambassador Jade Hannan was named the Colin Cameron Supporter of the Year. As well as fundraising for those in need – including the Charlton Athletic Community Trust and the Jack Jeffreys Superhero Trust – she has contributed to the development of a sensory space for fans with additional needs, introduced the Charlton Better Together initiative addressing issues of isolation, loneliness and mental health and is a strong advocate of the club’s equality, diversity and inclusion (EDI) work.

Elsewhere, Girls’ Academy Coach Simon Webster, who also spent more than decade as the women’s team’s Lead Physiotherapist, received the Valley Gold Recognition of Service award. Everyone at the club would like to thank Simon for his continued hard work.

Ashley Maynard-Brewer and Beth Roe picked up the PFA Community Champion awards for their engagement with Charlton Athletic Community Trust’s award-winning programmes throughout the season. 

The 2024 Hall of Fame inductees were also confirmed, with Karen Hills becoming the first-ever women’s Hall of Fame entrant. Hills triumphed with 37% of supporters’ votes, with Pauline Cope coming second.

The pre-1950 winner was Ralph Allen, who holds the club record of the most goals in one season (33), which has stood since 1934/35. Allen won with 53% of the vote, while Scotty Kingsley was the runner-up.

Brian Kinsey was victorious in the 1951-85 category with 74% of fans’ votes. Billy Kiernan finished in second place.

Matt Holland was the post-1986 winner with 42% of the vote, with John Humphrey the runner-up.

All of the winners will be inducted into the Hall of Fame and those in second place will be carried forward to next year's vote.

May also collected Charlton Athletic Disabled Supporters' Association's Player of the Year accolade.

Congratulations to all of our winners! All awards were presented at the club’s annual Player of the Year dinner, sponsored by ITRM, in the Meantime Fans’ Bar on Sunday, April 28th.

It's time. Be there. Click here to purchase your 2024/25 men's season ticket.

Read Time: 3 mins