Charlton Women's team to play Championship football next season

The FA have confirmed this morning that the Charlton Athletic Women’s team will be playing Championship football next season.

Riteesh Mishra’s women were 2-1 champions over Blackburn Rovers Ladies in the FA Women’s Premier League Championship Play-off, but promotion wasn’t guaranteed with the club still awaiting the result from the Championship bid submitted earlier in the season.

Now confirmed, Charlton will compete at the second highest level in women’s football along-side Leicester City and Sheffield United who were also successful in their bid.

Chairman Stephen King was delighted with the result and has thanked the staff and players for their efforts.

“Today is an important milestone in our journey, with the destination being a return to the very top of women’s football” said Stephen.

“I am delighted for all the players and staff that we have been promoted to the FA Women’s Championship for 2018/19. We got there on merit and it is thoroughly deserved because no-one comes as far as we have done by chance.

“Our support this year has been fantastic, but I urge every Charlton fan to really get behind the Women’s team next season. We really do need, and truly appreciate your support.”

Manager Riteesh Mishra said “This is a huge moment. Women’s football is going in new places quite quickly and we are part of that.

“I think we are good enough with a few additions and few changes for the league, but for now I think we have to understand the magnitude for what we have achieved and go and celebrate.”

The 12 teams confirmed in the 2018/19 FA Women’s Championship are: Aston Villa Ladies FC, Charlton Athletic Women, Doncaster Rovers Belles, Durham Women FC, Leicester City Women, Lewes FC Women, London Bees, Manchester United Women, Millwall Lionesses, Sheffield FC Ladies, Sheffield United Ladies and Tottenham Hotspur Ladies.

Read Time: 2 mins