CARABAO CUP PREVIEW | Milton Keynes Dons v Charlton

Lee Bowyer’s side will be full of youth when Charlton face Milton Keynes Dons in the Carabao Cup first round on Tuesday night (7.45pm).

The Addicks go into tonight’s game off the back of a tremendous win against Shrewsbury Town, thanks to a last-minute winner from Karlan Grant.

Meanwhile, tonight’s opposition MK Dons will be looking for their third straight win in the 2018/19 campaign.

The Dons have adapted quickly to life in League Two, winning both of their games so far, against Bury and Oldham Athletic.

Jason Pearce, Tariqe Fosu, Ben Reeves, Billy Clarke, Jake Forster-Caskey and Igor Vetokele are all out for Charlton. Jed Steer could be involved for the first time.

For MK Dons, Osman Sow (knee), Brandon Thomas-Asante (ankle), Sam Nombe (ankle), Conor McGrandles (eye) and Peter Pawlett (ankle) all remain sidelined.

Tickets for Tuesday's first-round tie will be on sale from the away ticket booth at Stadium MK. They can be purchased using cash and will be priced at:

Adult: £12

Over 65s: £10

U18: £5

U12: £1

Charlton boss Lee Bowyer: “I’m going to play near enough all youngsters. Nicky Ajose will be the only [outfield] senior player. Anfernee Dijksteel – who is still one of the youngsters – Taylor Maloney and Albie Morgan will all play. Apart from that, it will be Under-23s.”

MK Dons Manager Paul Tisdale: “First and foremost, you have to try and win it. We are playing against a team in a higher division but, of course, we are going to try and win it. I have to be very careful of the players we have who are fatigued.”

Charlton have a strong record when taking on MK Dons, having won seven of the past 15 meetings between the two clubs. The Addicks have won four times at Stadium MK, which is as many times as MK Dons have won against Charlton all together.

For the Valley Pass archive, we go back to October 2010 when the Addicks went to Stadium MK and won 2-1 in the now-named Checkatrade Trophy.

Referee John Busby officiated two games at The Valley in the 2017/18 campaign, distributing a total of six yellow cards.

He will be supported at Stadium MK by linesmen Garry Maskell and Abbas Khan and fourth official Carl Fitch-Jackson.

Supporters can follow all the build-up to the game on Charlton's official Instagram account, official Twitter account, Facebook page and official Snapchat account.

Live commentary of the clash will be available on Valley Pass exclusively for subscribers. Please click here for more information on how you can subscribe to Valley Pass and how you can purchase a 48-hour matchday pass, which is priced at just £4.

Elsewhere in the Carabao Cup… All kick-offs 7.45pm unless stated otherwise.

Nottingham Forest v Bury (7.30pm)

Blackpool v Barnsley

Carlisle United v Blackburn Rovers

Crewe Alexandra v Fleetwood Town

Grimsby Town v Rochdale

Leeds United v Bolton Wanderers

Macclesfield Town vBradford City

Mansfield Town v Accrington Stanley

Middlesbrough v Notts County

Oldham Athletic v Derby County

Port Vale v Lincoln City

Preston North End v Morecambe

Rotherham United v Wigan Athletic

Scunthorpe United v Doncaster Rovers

Sheffield United v Hull City

Shrewsbury Town v Burton Albion

Tranmere Rovers v Walsall

Bristol City v Plymouth Argyle

Bristol Rovers v Crawley Town

Cambridge United v Newport County

Cheltenham Town v Colchester United

Exeter City v Ipswich Town

Millwall v Gillingham

Norwich City v Stevenage

Oxford United v Coventry City

Portsmouth v AFC Wimbledon

Queens Park Rangers v Peterborough United

Southend United v Brentford

Swindon Town v Forest Green Rovers

Wycombe Wanderers v Northampton Town

Yeovil Town v Aston Villa

Reading v Birmingham City (8pm)

West Bromwich Albion v Luton Town (8pm)

Thursday 15th August

Sunderland v Sheffield Wednesday

Article by Liam Edwards

Read Time: 3 mins