TEAM NEWS | Debuts for Elerewe and Roddy as Adkins makes seven changes for cup tie

Nigel Adkins has handed debuts to Deji Elerewe and Jacob Roddy as the Charlton manager makes seven changes for this evening’s first-round Carabao Cup tie at The Valley against AFC Wimbledon.

Elsewhere, Charles Clayden, who enjoyed a brief cameo against Sheffield Wednesday last weekend, earns his first start for the Addicks.

Assuming Adkins opts for the same 4-3-3 formation, debutants Elerewe and Roddy join Chris Gunter and club captain Jason Pearce to form the backline in front of Craig MacGillivray. Ben Watson accompanies Sean Clare and Albie Morgan in Adkins’ three-man midfield, while Hady Ghandour, Josh Davison and Clayden form the attacking trio.

Akin Famewo, George Dobson and Jayden Stockley drop to the bench, where they are joined by Nathan Harness, Charlie Barker, Johl Powell and James Vennings.

Charlton: MacGillivray; Gunter, Elerewe, Pearce (c), Roddy; Clare, Watson, Morgan; Ghandour, Davison, Clayden 

Subs: Harness, Barker, Famewo, Dobson, Powell, Vennings, Stockley

Read Time: 1 mins