Charlton duo named alongside Marcus Rashford on Football Black List

Charlton duo, Jason Euell and Dr Michael Seeraj have joined a host of stars, including Marcus Rashford, on being named on this year's Football Black List - an initiative celebrating the most influential Black people in the British game. 

U23s Lead Coach, Euell, was named in the coaching and management category, while Seeraj, Head of Equality, Diversity and Inclusion for both the football club and the community trust, was named in the community category.

The Football Black List, founded in 2008 by sports journalists Leon Mann and Rodney Hinds, highlights positive influencers from the Black community in the sport.

A panel of experts from the Black community and football industry voted independently on nominations made by the public to determine who made the list. The panel included representation from the Premier League, The Football Association, Professional Footballers’ Association, League Managers Association, English Football League, PGMOL, FARE, BCOMS and Kick It Out. 

Footballers joining Rashford in the Cyrille Regis Players section of the list, include Crystal Palace women's Goalkeeper, Chloe

The Voice Newspaper is the exclusive home of the Football Black List which creates an opportunity to celebrate the Black communities contribution to the industry, while also encouraging debate and discussion on how best to address the ongoing under-representation of people from African-Caribbean backgrounds away from playing. 

Importantly, the list also helps to shine a light on deserving people working in the community and at the grassroots level of the game who often go uncelebrated.

The list recognises people across eight categories:

• Administration

• Coaching & Management

• Commercial

• Community

• Cyrille Regis Players


• Media

• Practitioners

The Ugo Ehiogu ‘Ones to Watch’ category - which identifies talented, young people in the industry under 30 years of age - will be released next week and plans will soon be announced for an online celebration event where all those on the list will receive an award. The huge contribution of Black disabled people in football will be recognised and feature within the event. 

Rodney Hinds, co-founder of the Football Black List, said: “Yet again the Football Black List has unearthed many in the community that are doing great work.

“The efforts of Marcus Rashford deserve acclaim alongside the others on the list who go about their business for the good of others.

“The Voice is happy to be home of the Football Black List and after a year of challenges it is great to be provided with inspiration.”

Fellow co-founder of the initiative, Leon Mann, added: "The global Black Lives Matter protests has made the game reflect on its own diversity and relationship with Black communities. 

"The Football Black List provides a snapshot of the wonderful contribution the Black community makes to the national sport. We hope it inspires the next generation of Black leaders to follow those listed and the initiative helps encourage the football industry to put diversity at the top of the agenda - where it needs to be to make much needed progress in this area."

Please find the full Football Black List below:

Cyrille Regis Players:

Chloe Morgan, Crystal Palace Women

Marcus Rashford MBE, Manchester United and England 

Troy Deeney, Watford FC

Tyrone Mings, Aston Villa and England 

Wilfried Zaha, Crystal Palace and Ivory Coast 


Edleen John, Director of International Relations, Corporate Affairs and Diversity - The FA

Eniola Aluko, Sporting Director - Aston Villa FC Women

Jade Morgan, General Manager - Leicester City Women

Les Ferdinand MBE, Director of Football - Queens Park Rangers

Marie Gabriel CBE, Chairperson - West Ham United Foundation

Coaching and Management:

Alex Dyer, Manager - Kilmarnock FC

Ashley Bosah & Cornelius Nwadialor, Joint Managers - Tooting & Mitcham FC

Jason Euell, Under 23 Head Coach - Charlton Athletic

Karleigh Osborne, Women's Head Coach - Brentford FC

Tony Whelan, Assistant Academy Director - Manchester United


Ashanti George-Faure, Senior Talent Manager - Refresh Sports

Faina Msellam, Sports Industry Advisory Board Member - Birkbeck Sport Business Centre

Marvin Morgan, CEO - Fresh Ego Kid

Nathan Thompson, Commercial Director - West Ham United

Warren Haughton, Director, Haughton Consultancy

Community and Grassroots:

Diane Sawyers, Operations Manager - Holford Drive Community Sports Hub

Duke Harrison-Hunter, Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Officer - Pompey in the Community

Emma Trent, Head of Programmes - Notts County Football in the Community

Harold Bennett, Founder - North London United

Dr. Michael Seeraj, Head of Equality Diversity & Inclusion - Charlton Athletic


Annette Nelson, Education Lead - Football v Homophobia


Carl Anka, Football Reporter - The Athletic

Charlene Gravesande, Special Projects Journalist - Sky Sports

Hugh Woozencroft, Sports Broadcaster - talkSPORT

Jessica Creighton, Sports Reporter - Sky Sports

Micah Richards, Freelance Broadcaster


Hayley Bennett, Founder - WeAreNutmegs

Jason Lee, Equalities Education Executive - PFA

Marvin Robinson, CEO - Peterborough United Foundation

Dr. Matt Ogunsanya, Club Doctor - Watford FC

Sam Allison, National Group Referee - PGMOL

Read Time: 4 mins