2017/18 FIXTURES REVEALED | Addicks welcome Bristol Rovers on opening day

Olly Groome reports

Charlton will kick off the 2017/18 season by hosting Bristol Rovers on opening day and celebrate 25 years back at The Valley with a home clash against Portsmouth on Saturday, December 9th. 

After the always hotly-anticipated release at 9am on Wednesday morning, the full fixture list revealed that the matchup against Pompey in SE7 will come almost 25 years to the day that the two sides met for the Addicks' historic return home on December 5th, 1992, when Colin Walsh netted the only goal in a 1-0 win. 

Meanwhile, Karl Robinson’s men will be hoping to take last season’s good form against Rovers into opening day on Saturday, August 5th, having put nine goals past the West Country side in 2016/17. 

The Addicks face back-to-back games in Devon in August, heading to newly-promoted Plymouth Argyle for the first away league game of the season on Saturday, August 12th, four days after taking on Exeter City at St James park in the first round of the Carabao Cup. 

Charlton will play five games over the festive period, with Blackpool visiting The Valley on Saturday, December 23rd, while a trip to Southend United is on the cards for Boxing Day. 

That is followed by another away trip on Saturday, December 30th with the DW Stadium the destination as we take on Wigan Athletic, before returning to SE7 to face Gillingham on New Year’s Day and Oldham Athletic on Saturday, January 6th. 

Other away days to look out for include the return fixture with Portsmouth at Fratton Park on Saturday, April 21st and the local trips to Gillingham on Saturday, September 16th and AFC Wimbledon on Saturday, March 3rd. 

The Addicks’ final game on home turf will see Blackburn Rovers visit South London on Saturday, April 28th, while the 2017/18 League One season will round-off with an early-evening kick-off away at Rochdale on Saturday, May 5th (5.30pm). 

2017/18 fixtures in full

Sat Aug 5     Bristol Rovers H
Tue Aug 8     Exeter City A (Carabo Cup R1) (Date TBC)
Sat Aug 12    Plymouth Argyle A
Sat Aug 19   Northampton Town H
Sat Aug 26    Rotherham United A
Sat Sep 2      Oldham Athletic A 
Sat Sep 9     Southend United H
Tue Sep 12   Wigan Athletic H
Sat Sep 16    Gillingham A
Sat Sep 23    Bury H
Tue Sep 26    Walsall A
Sat Sep 30     Fleetwood Town A
Sat Oct 7       Peterborough United H 
Sat Oct 14     Doncaster Rovers H
Tue Oct 17     Oxford United A
Sat Oct 21      Bradford City A
Sat Oct 28      A.F.C. Wimbledon H
Sat Nov 11     Shrewsbury Town A
Sat Nov 18    Milton Keynes Dons H
Tue Nov 21    Rochdale H
Sat Nov 25     Scunthorpe United A
Sat Dec 9      Portsmouth H
Sat Dec 16     Blackburn Rovers A
Sat Dec 23     Blackpool H
Tue Dec 26     Southend United A
Sat Dec 30     Wigan Athletic A
Mon Jan 1     Gillingham H
Sat Jan 6       Oldham Athletic H 
Sat Jan 13      Bury A
Sat Jan 20     Walsall H
Sat Jan 27      Blackpool A 
Sat Feb 3       Oxford United H
Sat Feb 10      Doncaster Rovers A
Tue Feb 13     Bradford City H
Sat Feb 17      Milton Keynes Dons (A)
Sat Feb 24      Shrewsbury Town H
Sat Mar 3         A.F.C. Wimbledon A
Sat Mar 10       Peterborough United A
Sat Mar 17       Fleetwood Town H
Sat Mar 24       Plymouth Argyle H
Sat Mar 31        Northampton Town A
Mon Apr 2        Rotherham United H
Sat Apr 7           Bristol Rovers A
Sat Apr 14        Scunthorpe United H
Sat Apr 21         Portsmouth A 
Sat Apr 28        Blackburn Rovers H
Sat May 5          Rochdale A (5.30pm)

(All fixtures subject to change)

Read Time: 3 mins