Charlton’s ball number confirmed for Friday’s Carabao Cup draw

Charlton will be represented by ball number eight in the draw for the first round of the Carabao Cup on Friday morning. 

The draw, which will be hosted in Vietnam, will take place at around 10.45am UK time and has been divided into northern and southern sections. 

A number of changes have been made for 2018/19’s competition and they include:

  • The removal of seedings from the first two rounds of the competition
  • The removal of extra-time, with all matches which are level after 90 minutes now going straight to penalties
  • Penalty shootouts to return to the traditional method, following last season’s trial with the ABBA system
  • VAR to be available to match officials at all Carabao Cup ties that are hosted at Premier League stadiums

The draw will be conducted by former EFL Cup winners Steve McManaman, Louis Saha and Dennis Wise and all first-round ties will take place on the week commencing Monday, August 13th. 

To read more key dates for summer 2018, please click here

EFL Chief Executive Shaun Harvey, who will also be present in Vietnam, said: “A principle aim of our partnership with Carabao has always been to promote the competition internationally, taking high-profile activities such as the competition draws overseas to support the EFL’s international growth strategy and raise awareness of the competition in Carabao’s key territories.

“There is no requirement for us to take draws overseas, but there is an absolute commitment to building the value of our competition outside the UK and the market in Vietnam should help the EFL and Carabao meet our shared ambitions. 

“The Round One draw is always significant, mapping out the opening stages of a competition that continues to attract a large audience at home and abroad, with almost 1.5million people attending Carabao Cup matches last season and games shown across the world in over 150 regions.

“At the EFL’s recent 2018 Summer Conference, Clubs voted to a number of rule changes in the Carabao Cup including the removal of extra-time which should help address team selection and additional fatigue issues that can sometimes be caused when mid-week ties go beyond 90 minutes. Seeding arrangements have also been removed from the first two rounds which should make for some interesting early round draws.

“We’ve had some great Finals in recent years, with the country’s biggest Clubs showing their appetite for success in the competition and I look forward to seeing how the 2018/19 edition unfolds from here on in.”

A full list of southern section ball numbers are available to view below.

South Section

1 AFC Wimbledon

2 Aston Villa

3 Birmingham 

4 Brentford

5 Bristol City

6 Bristol Rovers

7 Cambridge United

8 Charlton Athletic

9 Cheltenham Town

10 Colchester United

11 Coventry City

12 Crawley Town

13 Exeter City

14 Forest Green Rovers

15 Gillingham

16 Ipswich Town

17 Luton Town

18 Millwall

19 Milton Keynes Dons

20 Newport County

21 Northampton Town

22 Norwich City

23 Oxford United

24 Peterborough United

25 Plymouth Argyle

26 Portsmouth

27 Queens Park Rangers

28 Reading

29 Southend United

30 Stevenage

31 Swindon Town

32 West Bromwich Albion

33 Wycombe Wanderers

34 Yeovil Town

Read Time: 3 mins